2016 MLB Award Winners

Back to Article
Back to Article

2016 MLB Award Winners

Jacob Wasserman

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

As another season of baseball ends, the end-of-season awards begin. Almost all of the awards given to MLB players at this time of year are covered in baseball history. Some of the awards are named after baseball legends such as Cy Young, Hank Aaron, and Roberto Clemente. It is quite an honor for today’s players to win such prestigious awards.

To start off, the most valuable player awards are given to the most valuable player in each league, as voted on by the Baseball Writer Association of America (BBWAA). For this year, Mike Trout (LAA) won for the American League (AL), and Kris Bryant (CHC) for the National League (NL). Also voted on by the BBWAA, he Cy Young Award is given to the best pitcher in each league. Rick Porcello (BOS) won from the AL, and Max Scherzer (WSH) for the NL. The BBWAA also votes on two other awards, the Rookie of the Year, and the Manager of the Year. Detroit Tiger, Michael Fulmer was the Rookie of the Year for the American League, and LA Dodger Corey Seager won in the National League. The Managers of the Year this year were Terry Francona (CLE & AL) and Dave Roberts (LAD & NL). The most notable winners out of the BBWAA Awards for this year were Rick Porcello for Cy Young, Michael Fulmer for Rookie of the Year, and Dave Roberts for Manager of the Year. Porcello beat out Detroit’s Justin Verlander, to much controversy. That is because Verlander received more first place votes than Porcello, but Porcello received more points in total (each writer votes or their top 3 choices, and whether you are put at first, second, or third, you get a different amount of points, which is then added up). Michael Fulmer beat out the Yankees’ Gary Sanchez, who burst on to the scene in August, totaling 20 home runs over the course of the year. Fulmer was in the Majors for the entire season, and compiled some pretty impressive pitching stats. Perhaps the least controversial of these three, but never the less notable was Dave Roberts of the Dodgers winning the Manager of the Year over the Cubs’ Joe Maddon. Maddon’s Cubs won the World Series this year, however Roberts led an injury prone Dodgers to the NLCS, in his first year as a manager.

Some other notable baseaball awards include the Roberto Clemente Award, Hank Aaron Award, and the Reliever of the Year Awards. The Roberto Clemente Award, which is voted on by the fans and members of the media is given for good sportsmanship and community involvement, was given to Curtis Granderson of the Mets. The Hank Aaron award is given to the best all-around hitter in each league, also by fans and members of the media, went to David Ortiz (BOS) in the AL, and Kris Bryant (CHC) in the NL. The Reliever of the yar award is more self-explanatory, but it is notably voted on by a panel of former relief pitchers, such as Mariano Rivera and Trevor Hoffman. This year’s winners were Zach Britton (BAL) in the AL, and Kenley Jansen (LAD) in the NL. There are wo major awards given to one player in each position in each league.

Those are the Silver Slugger (best hitter) and the Gold Glove (best fielder). This year’s winners for the Silver Slugger were:


C: Salvador Perez , Royals
1B: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
2B: Jose Altuve, Astros
3B: Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays
SS: Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox
OF: Mookie Betts, Red Sox
OF: Mike Trout, Angels
OF: Mark Trumbo, Orioles
DH: David Ortiz, Red Sox


C: Wilson Ramos, Nationals
1B: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
2B :Daniel Murphy, Nationals
3B: Nolan Arenado, Rockies
SS: Corey Seager, Dodgers
OF: Charlie Blackmon, Rockies
OF: Yoenis Cespedes, Mets
OF: Christian Yelich, Marlins
P: Jake Arrieta, Cubs


And the Gold Glove winners were:


C: Salvador Perez, Royals
1B: Mitch Moreland, Rangers
2B: Ian Kinsler, Tigers
3B: Adrian Beltre, Rangers
SS: Francisco Lindor, Indians
LF: Brett Gardner, Yankees
CF: Kevin Kiermaier, Rays
RF: Mookie Betts, Red Sox
P: Dallas Keuchel, Astros



C: Buster Posey, Giants
1B: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
2B: Joe Panik, Giants
3B: Nolan Arenado, Rockies
SS: Brandon Crawford, Giants
LF: Starling Marte, Pirates
CF: Ender Inciarte, Braves
RF: Jason Heyward, Cubs
P: Zack Greinke, D-backs



Print Friendly, PDF & Email